top of page

#THEBIZZUPDATE 4: HOPE CARRIERS


On July 17, 2018, former U.S. President Barack Obama gave the Nelson Mandela Annual Lecture in Johanessburg, South Africa titled “Renewing the Mandela Legacy and Promoting Active Citizenship in a Changing World.” Pen and paper in hand, I tuned in via FB live as Obama highlighted Mandela’s “walk towards freedom and justice and equal opportunity,” while challenging modern-day ideologies – from ways we can achieve economic development to avoiding strongman politics.

He distinctly concluded with the power and role of youth. This stood out to me as I had just finished meeting with the two students I mentor, Nestor and Reine. I thought of them as Obama urged, “And for those who care about the legacy that we honor here today – about equality and dignity and democracy and solidarity and kindness…we have an obligation to help our youth succeed.”

Now, though my friends and I joke about aging as we hit our mid- and late-twenties, I know very well that we are also part of this group called “youth.” However, I’ve realized that Peace Corps has given me a unique opportunity to engage with this population, particularly those younger than me, more than ever before. It has not only been a fun change in pace and perspective but also an important one.

Mandela once said, “Young people are capable, when aroused, of bringing down the towers of oppression and raising the banners of freedom.” While working at the grassroots doesn’t look like a daily rally or clarion call to challenge systems of oppression, it is a subtle nudge towards staying aware, educated and motivated in order to eventually notice, build and achieve certain freedoms. In short, building the capacity of young people – through mentorship, entrepreneurship lessons, computer clubs, and more – is an investment in their future and the future.

That being said, any volunteer will tell you that we are not saving the world. That things can get rather depressing when you look at the big picture of development. However, there are moments where the jaded blues dissipate and I have seen that happen for many while working with those people Obama calls “hope carriers” – that is, youth. Below are brief looks at my time with young people during my service and the lil’ bits of hope they gave me.

Nestor and Reine

I have mentioned them a few times in past blog posts already but I would like to formally introduce you to Nestor Worou and Reine Adou. In early May 2018, I held an essay competition and interviews to select two students – one boy and one girl; either entering 11th or 12th grade – who would participate in the Student Internship Program 2018 run by Peace Corps volunteers. Nestor and Reine made the cut and in June, we started prepping for their month-long internship to take place in August with Equi-Filles NGO – an organization focused on gender equity and children’s rights.

Nestor and Reine worked alongside two other students – Ruth and Saoudickou – from a village called Sinendé. They all had the opportunity to work in the NGO office, shadow staff and work with women at a target site. They built relationships in their host families, wrote project proposals for when they got back to their homes, typed resumes, and even visited Parakou University.

Upon return to Manigri, Nestor and Reine launched a club focused on informing their peers about sex-ed and entrepreneurship/leadership skills to counter female pregnancies and declining school retention rates. By the end of the year, the school principal informed them that there wasn’t a single dropout due to pregnancy that year! There are other factors that could account for that stellar report, but we all like to think that their club played a strong role.

Through this entire experience, Reine improved her public speaking skills big time and Nestor gained a lot of vision for the future. They are fantastic students who taught me how to best mentor. I will definitely be checking in on them post-service.

Girls’ Soccer Team

On December 2018, my friend Yvette and I launched a committee to oversee a girls’ soccer team. I was leaving village weeks later to go on vacation, but I needn't worry; the committee sent me messages and pictures while on vacation of their first recruitment meeting and practices! In an environment where soccer fields are often dominated by boys and men, it was wonderful and refreshing to see these girls dribble and pass, up and down the field.

They played in their first organized soccer match this past April during a regional soccer tournament run by participating PCVs. We won second place! I was a very proud soccer mom. The songs and chants were consistent for the hour and a half ride back home. I am hopeful that this team and its support will grow and evolve with time.

Camp Succés 2019

In my last post about #campseason in Peace Corps Benin, I concluded that I couldn’t wait to help make Camp Succès 2019 even stronga in the Donga. Happy to report that this year’s camp truly did meet that goal. 41 middle school girls from around the Donga region arrived in Djougou on June 30th for a week-long girls’ empowerment camp that included sessions on nutrition, budgeting, sex-ed, menstrual hygiene, leadership and more. Little Carmella was a natural actor during her team’s skit illustrating good vs bad relationships. Nafissatou asked questions and took lots of notes. Kabirath and Mouibatou whipped out an impressive choreographed dance routine before everyone hit the dance floor. And on July 6th, everyone left with new friends, new khaki uniforms for school, and new lessons to share with friends and family at home.

This year, fellow PCV Tabby and I tag teamed as co-directors. Alongside co-coordinators Alice and Nicole, we made a solid team dedicated to increased community contribution through NGO outreach (nearly 50% this year!) and increased institutional knowledge through more Beninese camp counselors and an epic Google Drive folder. Our team of six volunteers and twelve Beninese work partners was incredible. Whether it came to leading sessions on time, teaching camp songs, or managing rain storms, these counselors were ready. We celebrated having the mayor of Djougou attend the opening ceremony for the first time as well as the opportunity to speak on the radio. Even with the inevitable bumps along the way, our team was strong and able to ensure that young girls in the Donga have the tools to become les filles qui guident le monde. It was all, if I may say so, a success.

*The former cook for Camp Succès could not participate in this year's Camp due to her failing health. She sadly passed away on the last day of camp. Please keep the staff at Espace Tissage in your prayers.

Post-Camp

One of the hopes after Camp Succès is that these girls lead talks, workshops and/or trainings on what they learned with their peers back home. Following up with each school can be a little challenging, but the camp counselor team does their best to check in on them during the school year. The girls who participated from my village – Yassina, Lorinda and Moursifath – have already started their workshop series on sex-ed and self-esteem for students in 6th-9th grade. It is not easy to control rooms full of middle schoolers, but these camp girls did well. Most of my focus is on those three as it is a rather unique opportunity to get to improve your public speaking skills at such a young age.

Odilon

I recently visited my host brother from my first host family in Zoungbonou. In my earliest blog posts, I described Odilon as way cooler than I’ll ever be and I stand by that statement. It was amazing catching up with him after so long. We clearly saw our mutual improvements – me, more proficient in French than my first three months; him, a full-fledged college student studying French linguistics and further developing his passion for music.

He laid out his vision for me. In Benin, musicians and artists are not well known or recognized by the world of Afrobeats in West Africa and beyond. To target this issue, he and his friend are supporting and building up the profile of young musicians through graphic design, technical advice and more. He’s essentially working to be a music producer/executive. He has asked for advice on saving money and investing; however, if there is anyone out there who is more tapped into the West African music industry, hit me up! I’d love to help my host brother out.

Till the next update, stay young!

Best,

Chizoba

CITATIONS

“Transcript: Obama’s Speech At The 2018 Nelson Mandela Annual Lecture.” NPR, 17 July 2018. https://www.npr.org/2018/07/17/629862434/transcript-obamas-speech-at-the-2018-nelson-mandela-annual-lecture.


0 comments
bottom of page